The members of your organization gain access to Received Digital when they are added as users. This guide explains how create, edit, and inactivate users.
User fields
Below is a list of the fields associated with a user for your reference when creating and editing users.
| Field Name | Required | Description |
|---|---|---|
| First Name | Yes | The first name of the user |
| Last Name | Yes | The last name of the user |
| Email Address | Yes | The user’s email address that will be used for logging in and receiving notifications |
| User ID | No | The User ID is a unique identifier for the user. If left blank, it will be generated automatically and will match the user’s email address. |
| Auto-Assign ID | No | Auto-Assign ID is an optional field used by Auto-Assign to properly assign items when no recipient name is identified on the item. If the user has a unique value associated with them that appears in the recipient address block of the items they receive, like a mailbox number, the value should be populated in the Auto-Assign ID field to assist Auto-Assign. |
| Phone | No | If a user is a recipient and would like to enable SMS notifications, a phone number must be added. Users can add a phone number themselves at any time after being created. |
| Roles | Yes | Roles determine what users can see and do in Received Digital. Specifically, each role has it’s own section in the left menu: Administration (Admin), Mailroom (Mailroom), Inbox (Recipient). |
| Groups | No | A user can belong to as many groups as needed. Groups are used to organize users for other functions in Received Digital and can even be made into assignable recipients. |
| Location | No | Locations are used to assist mailrooms that deliver items to recipients. |
| Supervisor | No | When you want to escalate items that haven’t been addressed by the recipient to a superior, you can set up escalation and assign Supervisors to users. |
| Assistants | No | Assistants can be set when you want to give other users access to the items the user receives as well as the ability to action them. Users can set their own Assistants at any time after being created. |
| Locker Banks | No | The Locker Banks field is only available to companies with locker integration enabled. This field is used to limit which locker banks the user's items can be loaded in. If left blank, items assigned to the user can be loaded into all locker banks. |
Creating users
There are two ways you can create users:
- Create users one at a time from the Create User page
- Create users in bulk with a user upload file
Creating users one at a time
To create users one at a time from the Create User page …
- Under the the Administration section in the left menu, click Users.
- Click New User in the top right.
- Populate the fields with the user’s information. Refer to the user fields section above for more information.
- On the left, you have the option to add a profile image for the user and choose whether or not the user will receive a welcome email upon creation.
- On the right, enter the recipient’s information.
- Finally, you can choose to assign a Supervisor and add Assistants for the user.
- Click Save Changes.
Creating users in bulk
To create users in bulk with a user upload file …
- Under the the Administration section in the left menu, click Users.
- Click the upload icon at the top right of the table.
- On the Upload File step, upload a CSV file that contains at least the following data for each user you wish to create: First Name, Last Name, and Email. For an example of all available columns with proper formatting, click the Download Sample File button. Your column headers are not required to match the sample. Refer to the user fields section above for more information on the available fields.
- On the Assign Columns step, map the appropriate column headers to the columns in your file. Unmapped columns will not be used.
- On the Configure Preferences step, you can choose whether or not the new users will receive a welcome email upon creation under the Welcome Email section.
- On the Review step, review the users that will be created and click Upload Users.
Editing users
There are two ways you can edit users:
- Edit users one at a time from the Edit User page
- Edit users in bulk with a user upload file
Editing users one at a time
To edit users one at a time from the Edit User page …
- Under the Administration section in the left menu, click Users.
- In the table, find the user you would like to edit, and click the three dots
- In the table, find the user you’d like to edit, and click the three dots next to that user. Select Edit.
- Edit the fields you’d like to change.
- Click Save Changes.
Editing users in bulk
To edit users in bulk with a user upload file …
- Under the the Administration section in the left menu, click Users.
- Click the upload icon at the top right of the table.
- On the Upload File step, upload a CSV file that contains the email of each user you’d like to edit as well as any data you’d like to change.
- On the Assign Columns step, map the appropriate column headers to the columns in your file. Unmapped columns will not be used.
- On the Configure Preferences step, there are a couple of settings you can control to change the behavior of the upload:
- Under the User Inactivation section, choose how you want to treat users that aren’t included in your upload file.
- Under the User Updates section, select the fields you’d like updated for existing users. Only the fields you select here will be updated when you complete the upload.
- On the Review step, review your changes and click Upload Users.
Inactivating users
If a member of your organization leaves or needs to be removed from Received Digital for any reason, you can inactivate the user. When inactivated, the user will no longer be able to log in to Received Digital.
There are two ways you can inactivate users:
- Inactivate users one at a time from the Edit User page
- Inactivate users in bulk with a user upload file
Inactivating users one at a time
To inactivate users one at a time from the Edit User page …
- Under the the Administration section in the left menu, click Users.
- In the table, find the user you’d like to inactivate, and click the three dots next to that user. Select Inactivate.
- In the dialog that appears, confirm you want to inactivate the user by clicking Inactivate. The user will lose access to Received Digital immediately.
Inactivating users in bulk
To inactivate users in bulk with a user upload file …
- Under the the Administration section in the left menu, click Users.
- Click the upload icon at the top right of the table.
- On the Upload File step, upload a CSV file that contains the emails of the users you’d like to keep, leaving out the users you’d like to inactivate. The Email column is the only one that is required for this operation.
- On the Assign Columns step, map the appropriate column headers to the columns in your file. Unmapped columns will not be used.
- On the Configure Preferences step, adjust the settings under the User Inactivation section:
- The first switch should be toggled on to ensure users that aren’t included in your file are inactivated.
- The second switch can be toggled on if you’d like to clear the User ID for users that are inactivated. This is helpful if you want to reuse an old user’s User ID, since this value has to be unique.
- On the Review step, review your changes and click Upload Users.